The Newburyport Art Association was founded in 1948. The NAA is dedicated to promoting and exhibiting our members’ work, to providing art education for students of all ages and skills, and to keeping the visual arts accessible for students in our local schools and for special needs adults.
Today, the NAA has become the cornerstone of greater Newburyport’s vibrant arts scene with over 600 artist members from around the region exhibiting their artwork in a full calendar of open, juried, invitational, featured artist and interest group shows during the year. In addition we offer a full calendar of studio classes and workshops for children, teens and adults, and we support two important community outreach programs: ArtLink & OpArt.
The NAA is located along Newburyport’s waterfront, just steps from the center of town, in a historic 1795 brick building housing three galleries that are open year-round to the general public. Artwork exhibited in our shows and featured in our Gift Shop.
The Laura Coombs Hills Gallery and handicapped accessible entrance was completed in July 2002. It was a joint project between NAA and David Hall of Hall and Moskow. The building was built circa 1890 as a coal yard weigh station located on the adjacent property. Later it was part of the Cashman Bros. Oil Company’s office and a dressing room for a local theatre in the 1970’s. The photograph above shows the weigh station being moved to the Art Association building before restoration was started.